The Old Testament is translated into Greek

250 BC (About 2300 years ago)

A Greek ruler named King Ptolemy asked Jewish elders to translate the first five books of the Old Testament into the Greek language. The first five books are Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. They are sometimes called the books of Moses or the Torah. Eventually, the other books of the Old Testament also were translated into Greek. The translation is called the Septuagint. Most of the Old Testament books of the Bible were originally written in Hebrew. Portions of the books of Ezra and Daniel were originally written in Aramaic, according to some scholars.

Next: Greek ruler Antiochus Epiphanes torments the Jews

Go to: List of all events